a white background with a few lines on it

Return on Ad Spend: Is this the most important Google Ads metric?

Fay Roe

With so many opportunities and platforms in the online world to digitally market your business, it can be difficult to figure out which one is best for your business, and how best to exploit them. Search engine marketing is one of the most powerful tools available. There are lots of search engines internet users can choose to use to access information but the most sophisticated and well established one is Google.


Google dominates search with 92% of the global search engine market, processing approximately 99,000 search queries every second (source: Hubspot). The figures are eye-watering, but they indicate how important it is for a business to get on that first page of the search engine results. You do not want your business lost in the ether.


Google Ads are one of the most powerful digital marketing tactics available to businesses. As part of a dynamic digital marketing campaign which includes top tier website design and SEO, Google Ads can generate an impressive amount web traffic and conversions for your brand.


The benefits of Google Ads:


·        Instantaneous impact

·        Trackable ROI

·        Cost-per-click online adverts

·        Customisable audience targeting

·        Attracts visitors who have a clear intent

·        Supports organic (unpaid for) website traffic


The capacity to swiftly generate traffic is unmatched when a Google Ads campaign is executed with precision. However, this efficacy comes at a cost, and managing your Google Ads budget is crucial to prevent dollars going down the drain. One metric that you should be on your radar is the Return on Ad Spend (ROAS).


What is ROAS?

Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) is a digital marketing pay-per-click (PPC) metric that quantifies how much money you make for every dollar spent on advertising. This metric unveils the performance of your Google Ads campaigns, offering insights into the profitability of your investment. The aim is to have a high ROAS i.e., making more money than you are spending.



a person holding a piggy bank that says roas

What is a good ROAS for a Google Ads campaign?

A good rule of thumb is anything over 1 (which is a 100% increase) is ok but the Google Ads campaign could be tweaked to improve efficiency, 2 is average, but a ROAS target of 3 or 4 is viewed as a reasonable return.


What’s the difference between ROAS and ROI?

In short, the Return on investment (ROI) is a big picture metric and measures the total profit return on an overall investment, whereas ROAS measures the revenue success of a specific Google Ads campaign.


For example, imagine your company makes $10,000 in revenue from a Google Ads spend of $2,500. You have rent, staff and stock costs to pay, which costs $8,000.


ROAS: ($10,000 / $2,500) x 100% = 400%


ROI: (-$500 / $10,500) x 100% = -4.76%


Note: -$500 is the profit ($10,000 - $2,500 - $8,000); $10,500 is the advertising spend ($2,500 + $8,000)


From two metrics of the same Google Ads campaign, there are two very different outcomes. The ROAS delivers positive results, whereas the ROI confirms the campaign is not profitable for the business.


Is ROAS the most important Google Ads metric?

Although counterintuitive, using ROAS alone is a flawed measure of the success of a Google Ads campaign. However, the metrics are incredibly useful when understood in the context of other available data, and this is where Digital Presence can help you. We translate metric data into jargon-free reports, so you can see how your Google Ads campaigns are truly performing.


As a digital marketing agency in Christchurch, we don’t just focus on short term results for your business. We look at your business holistically to create a data driven digital marketing strategy for long term sustainable growth, to increase brand value, and market share. If you would like to discuss your Google Ads campaign, or are starting from scratch, let’s talk. Call 0274 278047 or email hello@digitalpresence.co.nz for a free no-obligation chat. 

Get a free consultation

Share

A red , yellow , and green smiley face on a blue background.
by Fay Roe 20 February 2025
Looks don’t matter, right? Don’t judge a book by its cover, there’s more than meets the eye, beauty is in the eye of the beholder – there are many commonly used phrases that bestow the virtue of looking beyond the aesthetics. And in many other scenarios we agree, but when it comes to a business website design, none of the above apply. Is it shallow? Possibly. Does it negatively impact your business? Hugely. The world is image and technology obsessed, so how your website looks and functions is a big deal. A dated, clunky, or poorly designed website runs the risk of presenting your business as outdated and behind the times, at worse untrustworthy. If your competitors have sleek, modern, and user-friendly websites while yours feels stuck in the early 2000s, who do you think your audience will choose? The hidden costs of an outdated website An outdated website isn’t just a cosmetic issue. If you are missing the mark on the aesthetics, there are likely functional issues too. This negatively impacts your business in ways you may not even realise. Here’s what a poorly designed website tells your customers: You’re not keeping up with industry trends . If your website looks like it hasn’t been touched in years, visitors may assume your business isn’t evolving either or likely to offer the most up-to-date products or services. You don’t prioritise user experience . A slow, difficult-to-navigate website frustrates users and compels them to click away – life is too short to wait! You lack credibility . A poorly maintained website makes your business appear unreliable, reducing trust in your products or services.  You’re missing out on sales . A confusing, slow, or non-mobile-friendly site prevents potential customers from taking action, leading to lost revenue and reputation. Signs and symptoms you need a new website design If you have a website, especially if you designed it yourself, you may be blind to areas where it can be improved – the attachment to an underperforming DIY website design is both relatable (we’ve all done it) and damaging to your business. However diverse website designs are, they share common signs and symptoms when overdue a website upgrade:
A tablet with the year 2025 on it is surrounded by paint brushes and paint.
by Fay Roe 6 January 2025
Redesign your website in 2025 to reboot your business. Achieve a fresh, modern look that drives growth for your business. Visit us to engages your audience.
A laptop computer is sitting on a desk next to a vase of flowers.
by Fay Roe 3 December 2024
Discover how exceptional web design can transform your business. Learn tips to improve user experience, boost conversions, and drive growth today!
A man is sitting in a chair using a laptop computer.
by Fay Roe 6 November 2024
Learn how to optimise your website design for higher sales. Discover key strategies to enhance user experience and drive conversions on your site today.
A dog wearing a santa hat is standing next to a laptop computer on a couch.
by Fay Roe 30 September 2024
Explore our latest website design updates for Christmas! Discover festive trends and tips to elevate your online presence and engage your audience.
A woman is standing on a bridge looking at her cell phone.
by Fay Roe 4 September 2024
Learn how Google’s mobile update can impact your site. Stay compliant or risk losing rankings. Mobile optimisation tips & best practices inside.
A yellow cartoon character is using a laptop computer.
by Fay Roe 1 September 2024
Learn proven strategies to optimise Google Ads for higher conversions. Master the art of customer acquisition with expert tips and insights. Learn more!
A small plant is growing out of a laptop keyboard.
by Fay Roe 31 July 2024
Discover sustainable web design practices with Digital Presence. Reduce your website's carbon footprint while enhancing SEO and user experience.
Person making a Google search on a laptop
by Fay Roe 30 July 2024
Learn why organic website traffic is essential for your online success. Find us how we can help boost your website's visibility with effective SEO strategies!
Revamp Your Website Design to Boost Conversion Rates
by Fay Roe 22 July 2024
Is your website struggling to convert visitors into customers? Discover how a website redesign can help improve your conversion rate. Learn more now!
Show More
Share by: